Search Knowledge Base

< Back
You are here:

The Economic, Social and Cultural Council

The Economic, Social and Cultural Council (ECOSOCC) of the African Union was established under Article 22 of the Constitutive Act of the African Union as a vehicle for building a strong partnership between governments and all segments of the African civil society.

The Statue of the ECOSOCC, adopted by the Heads of State and Government at the third Ordinary Session of the Assembly in 2004 defines it as an advisory organ of the African Union composed of different African social groups, professional groups, non-governmental organizations, and cultural organizations. ECOSOCC’s structure includes a General Assembly, a Standing Committee, Sectoral Cluster Communities and a Credentials Committee.

The following are the major functions to which the ECOSOCC is mandated to:

  • promoting dialogue between all segments of African people on issues concerning the continent and its future;
  • Forging strong partnerships between governments and all segments of civil society, in particular, women, the youth, children, the Diaspora, organized labor, the private sector and professional groups;
  • Promoting the participation of African Civil Society is the implementation of the policies and programs of the Union;
  • Supporting policies and programs that promote peace, security and stability and foster constant development and integration; 
  • Promoting and defending a culture of good governance, democratic principles and institutions, popular participation, human rights  and social justice;
  • Promoting, advocating and defending gender equality; and
  • Promoting and strengthening the institutional, human and operational capacities of the African civil society.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Table of Contents